The last active F1 driver to win at Daytona

From Juan Pablo Montoya Fernando Alonso to Felipe Nasr, Sebastien Bourdais or Alex Rossi, the F1 community had a few of its past representatives racing at Daytona this weekend.

But who was the last active F1 driver to win the classic 24-hour race?

Fernando Alonso in 2019 you say? Think again, because the Spaniard has already left F1 when he triumphed 12 months ago.

Looking at the history books, we have to go all the way back to 1985, when Arrows' Thierry Boutsen won the event paired with Bob Wollek, Al Unser and AJ Foyt on-board Preston Henn's Porsche 962.

Actually, Boutsen was a late addition to the crew, initially starting the race alongside Henri Pescarolo and Bruce Leven in the latter's own 962. An early retirement however saw the F1 driver switch to Henn's entry, a move Wollek himself had recommended.

Unsurprisingly, the Frenchman and Boutsen handled the bulk of the work from there on, winning comfortably from Al Holbert, Al Unser Jr. and Derek Bell.