GALLERY: McLaren's last race-winning car launch

© XPB 

McLaren's last race-winning car, the 2012-spec, Mercedes-powered MP4-27 was launched on this date five years ago, with Formula 1 world champions Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button teaming up for the third consecutive season.

The two Britons would combine for seven victories but poor reliability meant McLaren only finished third in that year's Constructors' championship behind Red Bull and Ferrari.

To this date, Button's 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix win remains the most recent success for the Woking-based outfit.