Hamilton tops first Austrian GP free practice

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Austria

Lewis Hamilton set the fastest lap time in this morning's first free practice session of the Austrian GP, edging out Red Bull's Max Verstappen and team mate Valtteri Bottas.

The Mercedes driver's 1:05.975 is also a new track record for the Red Bull Ring, a time clocked on soft tyres and 0.190s clear of Verstappen who cranked up his performance in the closing stages of the session only to spin at the Turn 3 hairpin.

It was an eventful FP1 with many spins and mishaps, mainly induced by tyre issues according to most drivers.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel was fourth after a spin at Turn 1 early when the German clipped the apex and found himself facing oncoming traffic.

Kimi Raikkonen was also caught out when braking for the troublesome Turn 1, spinning and damaging his first set of Supersoft rubber in the process.

Turn 9 was another source of problems for many drivers, with Romain Grosjean suffering a puncture after running over the kerb on the exit, while Felipe Massa also ran hard on the exit and pitted for a thorough inspection.

McLaren's drivers made good use of their new spec-3 Honda power unit, with both Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne running in the top-ten on Friday morning.

Free Practice 1 results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:05.975s 38
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:06.165s + 0.190s 23
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:06.345s + 0.370s 35
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:06.424s + 0.449s 28
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:06.620s + 0.645s 32
6 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:06.848s + 0.873s 24
7 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:07.283s + 1.308s 31
8 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:07.437s + 1.462s 31
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:07.510s + 1.535s 28
10 Esteban Ocon Force India 1:07.511s + 1.536s 39
11 Felipe Massa Williams 1:07.550s + 1.575s 29
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:07.594s + 1.619s 30
13 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:07.633s + 1.658s 32
14 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:07.649s + 1.674s 31
15 Lance Stroll Williams 1:08.041s + 2.066s 35
16 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:08.074s + 2.099s 20
17 Sergey Sirotkin Renault 1:08.586s + 2.611s 27
18 Alfonso Celis Force India 1:09.280s + 3.305s 15
19 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 1:09.323s + 3.348s 29
20 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:10.853s + 4.878s 12

GALLERY: F1 drivers' wives and girlfriends

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter