Toyota #8 does it again - seals WEC title in Bahrain

Toyota’s trio of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa claimed their second consecutive World Endurance Drivers’ Championship in Bahrain on Saturday.

The #8 Toyota’s crews capped another banner year for the Japanese manufacturer which had already sealed the WEC Hypercar class title at Fuji last September.

In the 8 Hours of Bahrain, Buemi, Hartley and Hirakawa – who had to overcome in the race a critical clutch issue on their mount – triumphed over the sister car of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José Maria Lopez.

The #7 Toyota claimed four wins this season against two victories for the #8 crew, but the latter’s consistency proved crucial in sealing the title.