David Coulthard elected as the BRDC's new president

© XPB 

Former Grand Prix driver David Coulthard has been elected as the new president of the venerable British Racing Drivers' Club.

The 13-time F1 winner, who raced for Williams, McLaren and Red Bull, will take over from Paddy Hopkirk who was the BRDC's president since 2017.

"I and my fellow board Members are delighted to welcome David Coulthard as president of the BRDC," said BRDC Chairman John Grant.

"We are confident that, in David, we have a president who is not only a greatly talented racing driver but also a successful businessman with an enviable network of contacts in the motorsport world which, together with his experience, should be of great benefit to the club."

The BRDC's election took place earlier this week, and also confirmed four-time Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti as the institution's vice-president.

Coulthard's responsibilities with the BRDC will not impact his current commitments as a commentator in F1 with Britain's Channel 1 or his involvement with the W Series.

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter