Berlin E-Prix: Da Costa hands Porsche first win on home soil


Antonio Felix da Costa clinched a record-breaking third Formula E win at Templehof on Sunday, a victory that also marks the Porsche team’s first win on home soil in the all-electric series.

The race unfolded with Porsche deploying a strategic two-car attack, with da Costa and teammate Pascal Wehrlein collaborating to fend off the pressure from the Jaguars of Nick Cassidy and Mitch Evans.

Evans briefly took the lead after a Safety Car intervention, but da Costa was eventually able to unleash a daring late-braking maneuver into the hairpin, forcing the Kiwi to concede the position.

This opened the door for Oliver Rowland, who had staged a remarkable climb from 16th on the grid, to slip into second with his Nissan.

While Evans attempted to fight back with his final ATTACK MODE boost, Cassidy – Saturday’s winner in Berlin – capitalized on the duel to snatch third place.

Da Costa cruised to victory, his first since Cape Town 2023. This race also saw a record-breaking eighth different winner in Season 10.

Cassidy's podium finish, coupled with the fastest lap, propelled him to the top of the championship standings. Porsche celebrated a strong showing with two cars in the top four, with Pascal Wehrlein holding off reigning champion Jake Dennis for fourth.


Further down the field, Jehan Daruvala (Maserati MSG Racing) impressed with a record-breaking Formula E climb from 13th to seventh. Youngster Taylor Barnard (NEOM McLaren) also made a significant debut on his first race weekend, battling his way from 18th to eighth place.

Cassidy leaves Berlin with an impressive 45-point accumulation for the weekend, and with 140 points in the championship’s standings while Wehrlein is second with 124 points. Rowland follows closely in third with 118 points.

Jaguar TCS Racing dominates the Teams' standings with 237 points, followed by TAG Heuer Porsche in second with 183.

Formula E’s championship will resume with a double-header in Shanghai on May 25th and 26th.

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter