Vandoorne misses out on Belgian Driver award

© XPB 

Thierry Neuville has been named the Belgian Driver of the Year by the Royal Automobile Club of Belgium (RACB), with the World Rally Championship star edging McLaren-Honda Formula One ace Stoffel Vandoorne.

Neuville, who finished runner-up to four-time champion Sébastien Ogier in the 2016 WRC standings with one win and another six podium finishes, receives the award for the third time after earning the accolade in 2011 and 2013.

Vandoorne, who made his grand prix debut in replacement of an injured Fernando Alonso in Barhain, had picked up the trophy last year in the wake of his dominant GP2 Series title-winning campaign. The 24-year-old will replace Jenson Button and take part in his first full F1 campaign in 2017.

Racing legend Jacky Ickx remains the most decorated Belgian driver in the RACB’s end-of-season ceremony with 12 awards received between 1967 and 1982.

Earlier this week, Red Bull ace Max Verstappen was named Dutch Sportsman of the Year.