McLaren's last full-time IndyCar Series gig

McLaren announced this week its full-time return to IndyCar in 2020, the Woking-based outfit joining forces with race winners Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

In the early seventies, it was customary for McLaren to battle on several fronts, the team dovetailing its Can-Am and IndyCar programmes with its core Formula 1 affairs.

Team McLaren triumphed with Johnny Rutherford twice at Indianapolis, in 1974 and 1976.

But the outfit's last full involvement in the US was back in 1979, when Rutherford - seen here above at the Brickyard - steered his M-24B to two wins in the SCCA/CART Indy Car Series, the legendary Texan finishing fourth in the championship.