Formula 1 publishes 21-race draft calendar for 2019

Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 W09 leads at the start of the French Grand Prix
© XPB 

Formula 1 has announced a draft 21-race calendar for 2019, with the German Grand Prix confirmed to be part of next year's schedule.

The number of races equals the amount of rounds enjoyed by F1 fans in 2016 and 2018, with eleven races to take place in Europe, , five in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia.

Grand Prix racing's festivities will begin in Melbourne on March 17 and finish in Abu Dhabi on December 1. The season will also see Formula 1's milestone 1000 Grand Prix, an honor bestowed upon the organizers of the Chinese Grand prix scheduled on April 14.

After extensive discussions and capitalizing on the success of this year's event, the promoters of the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim have reached a new agreement with FOM, thanks also to the support of Mercedes and the country's Federal Minister of Transportation and Digital Infrastructure.

Formula 1 also announced that Suzuka had extended its deal to host the Japanese Grand Prix for an additional three years, with the race set to take place until 2021.

"The renewal of the Japanese Grand Prix and the confirmation of the German Grand Prix are both examples of our direction to place fans at the heart of Formula 1, a vision shared with all our promoters," said F1 commercial boss Sean Bratches.

2019 Race Calendar

Round Race Date
1 Australian Grand Prix (Melbourne) 17 March
2 Bahrain Grand Prix (Sakhir) 31 March
3 Chinese Grand Prix (Shanghai) 14 April
4 Azerbaijan Grand Prix (Baku) 28 April
5 Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona) 12 May
6 Monaco Grand Prix (Monte Carlo) 26 May
7 Canadian Grand Prix (Montreal) 9 June
8 French Grand Prix (Le Castellet) 23 June
9 Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg) 30 June
10 British Grand Prix (Silverstone) 14 July
11 German Grand Prix (Hockenheim) 28 July
12 Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest) 4 August
13 Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps) 1 September
14 Italian Grand Prix (Monza) 8 September
15 Singapore Grand Prix (Marina Bay) 22 September
16 Russian Grand Prix (Sochi) 29 September
17 Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka) 13 October
19 Mexican Grand Prix (Mexico City) 27 October
18 United States Grand Prix (Austin) 3 November
20 Brazilian Grand Prix (Interlagos) 17 November
21 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Yas Marina) 1 December