Di Grassi loses Mexico ePrix win, D’Ambrosio takes victory

©Formula E media site

Lucas di Grassi has been excluded from the Mexico ePrix, with Jérôme d’Ambrosio inheriting the win.

The Abt Schaeffler all-electric car raced by the Brazilian in his first stint was found to be 1.8kg under the mandatory minimum weight of 888kg, in breach of Article 5.1 of the FIA Formula E technical regulations.

This means pole sitter D’Ambrosio earns his second victory in the series. Incidentally, the Belgian’s maiden FE success also came after a Di Grassi exclusion in Berlin last year.

Promoted to second is Renault e.dams’ Sébastien Buemi, who thus reclaims the points lead he briefly abandoned to Di Grassi. D’Ambrosio’s Dragon Racing team-mate Loic Duval should have been third but for a 15-second penalty also handed post-race for not respecting track limits.

In the end, it is Nicolas Prost who joins team-mate Buemi in the Mexico ePrix top three. The Frenchman also gets back the fastest lap of the race after D’Ambrosio was stripped off it. The Belgian set the initial benchmark after cutting a chicane.

The slew of post-race penalties mean Buemi leave Mexico with a 22-points edge over Di Grassi in the Drivers’ championship.

Carlos Sainz interview: The most important year, again

Max Verstappen: The man in demand

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter