Verstappen wins the vote of his peers… except Hamilton


In another resounding testament to Max Verstappen’s exceptional talent and unwavering success, the Dutchman was voted ‘Driver of the Year’ by his fellow F1 drivers.

The annual recognition was awarded to Verstappen for the third consecutive year in a ballot in which F1’s entire class of 2023 – save Lewis Hamilton – chose the field’s Top 10 drivers.

The poll’s regulations permitted drivers to cast votes for themselves, though not all chose to exercise this privilege. Each submitted list was treated with confidentiality.

Scores were allocated in accordance with the existing F1 points system. The leading driver on each list garnered 25 points, with a descending scale down to one point for the 10th-ranked driver.

These scores were then amalgamated by Formula 1 to establish an overall top 10.

Verstappen's commanding 2023 campaign, culminating in his championship triumph in Qatar with five races remaining, cemented his position as the sport's preeminent driver.

Although Sergio Perez secured the runner-up spot in the drivers’ championship, propelling Red Bull to their inaugural 1-2 finish in the standings, Perez found himself in 10th place in the drivers’ poll—two positions lower than the previous year.

Lewis Hamilton, Verstappen's erstwhile title rival, ascended to the second spot, one place higher than his 2022 ranking. This followed his third-place finish in the drivers’ standings, achieved with a Mercedes that faced performance challenges.

The seven-time world champion didn't take part in the vote but that didn't disqualify him from receiving votes from his colleagues.

Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso claimed the third spot, climbing three positions from the previous year. McLaren’s Lando Norris secured fourth place, with both drivers earning eight and seven podiums, respectively, in fiercely contested individual campaigns.

Charles Leclerc, who occupied the second spot in the previous year's ranking, settled for fifth place, while his Ferrari teammate, Carlos Sainz, shared the sixth position with Alex Albon.

Rookie Oscar Piastri impressed with an eighth-place finish in the McLaren, while Pierre Gasly made a notable entry in ninth place—two positions higher than his standing in the drivers’ championship in his debut season with Alpine.

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter