FIA approves 21-race calendar for 2016

© XPB 

The 2016 F1 season is set to feature 21 races with the first round taking place on April 3 after approval from the FIA.

A meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Mexico City on Friday saw the provisional calendar approved, with the season set to start in April in Melbourne. The inaugural race in Azerbaijan is scheduled in for July 17, while the German Grand Prix returns and there are a number of back-to-back races including Singapore and Malaysia in September.

With Malaysia dropping to late in the season, the Russian Grand Prix in Sochi will  be the fourth round of the year as part of a back-to-back pairing with Bahrain, following another initial back-to-back of Australia and China.

The full calendar for 2016 released by the FIA is as follows:

1Australian Grand Prix (Melbourne)3 April
2Chinese Grand Prix (Shanghai)10 April
3Bahrain Grand Prix (Sakhir)24 April
4Russian Grand Prix (Sochi)1 May
5Spanish Grand Prix (Barcelona)15 May
6Monaco Grand Prix (Monte Carlo)29 May
7Canadian Grand Prix (Montreal)12 June
8British Grand Prix (Silverstone)26 June
9Austrian Grand Prix (Spielberg)3 July
10European Grand Prix (Baku)17 July
11German Grand Prix (TBC)31 July
12Hungarian Grand Prix (Budapest)7 August
13Belgian Grand Prix (Spa-Francorchamps)28 August
14Italian Grand Prix (Monza)4 September
15Singapore Grand Prix (Marina Bay)18 September
16Malaysian Grand Prix (Sepang)25 September
17Japanese Grand Prix (Suzuka)9 October
18United States Grand Prix (Austin)23 October
19Mexican Grand Prix (Mexico City)30 October
20Brazilian Grand Prix (Interlagos)13 November
21Abu Dhabi Grand Prix (Yas Marina)27 November

Click here for a lighter look back at some scenes from the British Grand Prix

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter