FIA confirms record 23-race calendar for F1 in 2021

© XPB 

The FIA's World Motorsport Council has signed off on Formula 1's 2021 calendar that should see teams and drivers compete in a record 23 events.

The boosted agenda that will follow this year's COVID-19 impacted 17-race schedule was ratified at the FIA's General Assembly meeting that took place ahead of Friday's virtual prize-giving ceremony.

F1's 2021 campaign will kick off on March 21 in Melbourne and conclude in Abu Dhabi on December 5.

The sport is hoping for a full return of spectator attendance at events next year although doubts remain whether this will be possible at the opening race in Australia, where strict sanitary restrictions and quarantine requirements are set to remain in place for the foreseeable future.

Unfortunately, Vietnam's much heralded maiden Grand Prix that was scheduled to take place on April 25 in Hanoi has been permanently scrapped, although the date remains open.

The two novelties of next year's calendar are the return of the Dutch Grand Prix at Zandvoort, earmarked for September 5, and a night race on the streets of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia scheduled as the the championship's penultimate round on November 28.

As the 2021 season falls back in line with F1's usual structure, there will be no double-headers at the same venue as was the case this year, but teams will need to deal with two triple-header weekends after F1's summer break: Spa, Zandvoort and Monza will be followed after a one-week break by a grueling Sochi, Singapore, Suzuka stint.

Portimao, Mugello and Imola aren't listed for next season but all three venues remain possible options to fill in Vietnam's April 25 slot.

Formula 1's 2021 calendar:

March 21 - Australian GP, Melbourne
March 28 - Bahrain GP, Sakhir
April 11 - Chinese GP, Shanghai
April 25 - TBC (To Be Confirmed)
May 9 - Spanish GP, Barcelona*
May 23 - Monaco GP, Monte Carlo
June 6 - Azerbaijan GP, Baku
June 13 - Canadian GP, Montreal
June 27 - French GP, Paul Ricard
July 4 - Austrian GP, Spielberg
July 18 - British GP, Silverstone
August 1 - Hungarian GP, Budapest
August 29 - Belgian GP, Spa-Francorchamps
September 6 - Dutch GP, Zandvoort
September 12 - Italian GP, Monza
September 26 - Russian GP, Sochi
October 3 - Singapore GP, Marina Bay
October 10 - Japanese GP, Suzuka
October 24 - U.S. GP, Austin
October 31 - Mexican GP, Mexico City
November 14 - Brazilian GP, Sao Paulo
November 28 - Saudi Arabian GP, Jeddah
December 5 - Abu Dhabi GP, Yas Marina

* Subject to contract