F1 field elects its 2021 Driver of the Year

© XPB 

A selection of fourteen drivers from this year's F1 grid cast their vote for Driver of the Year, with Max Verstappen unsurprisingly coming out on top.

The annual poll set up by Formula 1 saw each driver create their own top-10 ranking, with scores based on F1's points system, with the top driver thus earning 25 points while the tenth best was given 1 point.

The fourteen lists were then combined to form a top 10 overall. All drivers, who voted anonymously, were allowed to vote for themselves although several did not, while others did not put their name at the top of the ballot.

As expected, Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton topped the votes, with McLaren's Lando Norris scoring third ahead of Ferrari's Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc.

Thereafter followed Alpine's Fernando Alonso, AlphaTauri's Pierre Gasly, Williams' George Russell, Esteban Ocon and Haas rookie Mick Schumacher who was praised by his peers.

Conspicuously absent from the top 10 poll were three Grand Prix winners in 2021, Sergio Perez, Daniel Ricciardo and Valtteri Bottas.

The drivers who took part in the vote (in alphabetical order) were: Fernando Alonso, Pierre Gasly, Nicholas Latifi, Charles Leclerc, Nikita Mazepin, Lando Norris, Esteban Ocon, Daniel Ricciardo, George Russell, Carlos Sainz, Mick Schumacher, Lance Stroll, Yuki Tsunoda, Sebastian Vettel

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter