A star-studded gathering for the FIA's new Hall of Fame

Last night in Paris, the FIA inaugurated its new Hall of Fame which celebrates motor racing's most famous names of the past and present.

The governing body had yet to endorse an idea sanctioned by other motorsport institutions, such as NASCAR or the Indianapolis 500.

Yesterday's launch showcased Formula 1's distinguished heritage with the induction of the sport's 33 world champions.

Sir Jackie Stewart, Mario Andretti, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Nico Rosberg were joined by representatives and family of F1’s other title winners in becoming the first drivers inducted into the FIA's Hall of Fame.

Lewis Hamilton was conspicuously absent from the gathering however, as he was hard at work at the Fashion Awards in London.