24 years ago


The last time an active F1 driver was victorious at Le Mans came in 1991, when Bertrand Gachot and Johnny Herbert won alongside Volker Weidler driving Mazda's 787B. The victory remarkably remains the only one for a Japanese manufacturer. Gachot went on to drive for Jordan, which (eventually) became Force India and is this year sponsored by Gachot's Hype Energy drink company. And who happens to drive for said team now?