Still the only Japanese manufacture to win Le Mans

Toyota's latest demise at Le Mans means that Mazda remains the only Japanese manufacturer to triumph in the fabled 24-hour epic.

The win came in 1991, and was anything but predictable. Bertrand Gachot, Johnny Herbert and Volker Weidler prevailed after a grueling fight with Mercedes-Benz and Jaguar with Herbert taking the lead just three hours from the end.

Mazda's win was about as glorious as the sound of its 787B rotary-engine machine.