Boutsen resists and brings it home in Hungary

Because of the summer shutdown which has become a cornerstone of the Formula 1 calendar, it's been 33 years since a Grand Prix race was last held on August 12, and it was the 1990 Hungarian Grand Prix.

It was the fifth time the race was held at the Hungaroring, with previous winners having been Nelson Piquet (twice), Ayrton Senna and Nigel Mansell.

In qualifying, out of the blue, Thierry Boutsen claimed pole position, the Williams charger outpacing his team mate Riccardo by just 0.036s.

Boutsen held his own up front when the lights went out and led the race from start to finish, albeit by a narrow margin from his pursuers.

During the race, Senna suffered a puncture and also collided with Benetton's Alessandro Nannini, but he kept going. Meanwhile Prost retired with gearbox failure, and Berger and Mansell exited after colliding on lap 72.

Senna recovered to second place ahead of Piquet and piled the pressure on Boutsen.

But the Belgian driver valiantly defended his leading position and crossed the line 0.288s ahead of Senna to claim his third and final F1 win. Piquet took the final podium spot ahead of Patrese.