Bruce puts win #1 on McLaren's books

On this day in 1968, Bruce McLaren won the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa, giving his eponymous team its first of its current 182 F1 world championship wins.

The Kiwi was a deserving winner but was handed the win on the penultimate lap of the race when a fuel miscalculation forced Matra's Jackie Stewart to coast into the pits for a late splash and dash.

It was also Bruce's fourth and final Grand Prix victory, and his first triumph in six years.