FIA to reward safer drivers with superlicence points

© XPB 

The FIA has announced it will give safer drivers a bonus of two points that will count towards securing their Formula One superlicence.

New regulations were implemented last year following Max Verstappen’s F1 debut aged 17. Pilots must now be at least 18 to be allowed to drive an F1 car and can only compete in the sport after accumulating 40 points over a three-year period, with their finishing position in certain championships carrying a set number of points.

Following its second World Motor Sport Council meeting of 2016 in Turin on Friday, the governing body released this statement:

“For the FIA Championships where a penalty points system is in place, any driver having competed in the entire championship without being given any penalty point will be granted a ‘Safety Bonus’ – an additional two points on top of their achieved points.”

The FIA has also decided to add Formula E and V8 Supercars to its points system, though the Formula E champion was already set to receive a superlicence.

Technical analysis - Baku

Scene at the Grand Prix of Europe

Grand Prix of Europe - Driver ratings

Breakfast with ... Derek Daly

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter