Jenson Button: 17 seasons, 15 wins

Formula 1 Grand Prix, Australia, Sunday Podium

2010 Australian Grand Prix

After winning the 2009 title, Button’s signing with McLaren the following season was seen as a bold move from the reigning world champion with few expecting the Briton to prevail against his compatriot Lewis Hamilton.

Button did not take long to find his feet in his new surroundings though, as he claimed a trademark win in mixed-weather conditions in Melbourne. Lining up fourth on a wet grid, the McLaren driver dropped a couple of positions in the opening laps before swapping his intermediate tyres for a set of slicks as the track began to dry.

Although Button initially had to tiptoe his way around the circuit, the early gamble paid off, as most drivers started to follow suit and pit for dry tyres. Once the initial phase of the race shook off, Button had emerged into second place behind Vettel. The Red Bull racer then ran into mechanical trouble, which pitched him into the gravel trap and retirement.

Button kept a steady hand in an action-packed contest that featured many battles for positions amongst the top-10 runners, and went on to make it back-to-back wins in Australia following his 2009 success at the Albert Park Circuit.