A 21-picture salute to Formula 1 ahead of 'Race 1000'

8. Italian Grand Prix - 1971

For the last time in its history, Monza enjoyed a chicane-less configuration in 1971, making the Italian Grand Prix a memorable slipstream festival and the closest finish ever in F1.

On the final lap, five drivers - Ronnie Peterson, François Cevert, Peter Gethin, Howden Ganley and Mike Hailwood - set out for glory. None had ever won an F1 Grand Prix!

From third, Gethin lunged to the inside at Parabolica and out-dragged his rivals to the checkered flag to collect his single Grand Prix win by just one hundredth of a second!